Chalky photo experiment

DSC_0391

So I’ve been thinking about starting a blog for a long time now. And about 2 or 3 months ago I came up with this name, and that’s as far as I got. Last weekend, though, I had the prospect of shooting a wedding, and so I figured I should pick my camera back up after its long, dusty break, and give something a shot. Long story short,I’m not shooting a wedding, but I got some fun pictures of my husband.

We went up Provo CanyonDSC_0409 and he brought his rock climbing gear. The pictures from this weekend were inspired by this shoot, captured by the talented Ciara Richardson. I didn’t have much of a plan before we hopped in the car after church on Sunday (other than meticulously telling my husband he couldn’t wear the pants he had on…). With all the rain we’ve been having in Provo lately, the Canyon was super green and lush and awesome.

I am still recovering from an un-epic rock climbing fall that resulted in a really badly sprained ankle, so we had to stop clambering up the trail after about 20 minutes, and we tucked ourselves underneath a hill where I got a few shots that I was pleased with.

DSC_0415Anyways, that brings me to the “why” and the “welcome” of this blog post.

Five years ago I did a 365 project where I really pushed myself artistically. Unfortunately, I pushed myself during my first year of college and thus the project became tedious and annoying, and I stopped liking the idea of taking pictures. Which was depressing considering I spent a year and half in New Zealand and didn’t really document it as a result.

DSC_0478This is my second attempt to be a little less obsessive and enjoy the art a little more. So this blog will be filled with posts about my newly-married life, and weekend photo projects. I am definitely still learning, so many of my posts will feature photographers and shots that inspired me.

I hope you follow me along on this fun journey! 🙂

Leave a Reply

